Apr 29

Downland Churches May 2015

The Downland Churches

Holy Trinity Poynings,  St Andrew’s, Edburton

St John the Evangelist, Newtimber

The Transfiguration, Pyecombe

www.downlandchurches.co.uk

May 2015

Sunday 3rd May                               Easter 5

10 am  Family Service              Poynings
11 am  Family Communion     Edburton

 

Sunday 10th May                             Easter 6 

10 am   Holy Communion        Newtimber

6 pm   Evening Service         Pyecombe

 

Thursday 14th May                   Ascension Day

7.30 pm Holy Communion          Newtimber

 

Sunday 17th May                                     Easter 7

10 am Holy Communion          Poynings

11am   Family Communion      Edburton

 

Sunday 24th May                                        Pentecost

10am  Holy Communion          Pyecombe

 

Sunday 31st May                    Trinity Sunday

10am  Holy Communion          Newtimber

 

Morning and Evening Prayer each week

At 9am on Wednesdays at Poynings

At 6pm:  Mondays (Edburton),Wednesdays (Pyecombe)

At 5pm: Tuesdays at Newtimber

 

Evergreens (for the over 60’s)

Monday 11th May, 3.30 – 5pm at Downside, Fulking

(home of Charmayne and Harry Diamond)

Weddings

Saturday 23rd May   David Roberts and Marilyn Simon

Newtimber

Friday 29th May     Marie Hollywood and Harry Morgan

Newtimber

Baptisms

Saturday 16th May   Annabelle Florence Dinham     Poynings

Saturday 30th May   Alice May Lamb                                  Pyecombe

 

Other special events and dates this month

 

  • The Family Service at Poynings on 3rd May will NOT be followed by Holy Communion as it usually is – please go down to Edburton for 11am if you wish to receive communion in the Benefice on that day.
  • Plant Sale at Pyecombe on EITHER Saturday 9th May, if the weather is fine, when it will be held in the churchyard OR Sunday 10th May in the church if Saturday is wet. 2-4pm either day.
  • Deanery Synod will be held on Weds 13th May at St Francis Church Hassocks at 8pm.
  • On Friday 15th May we will be launching Downland     Messy Church in the Hall at Fulking from 4.30-6pm.      Come and join in the fun, and bring the family.
  • Sunday 24th May is Pentecost Sunday. Apart from our own service, all are invited to St Edwards Church. Burgess Hill for a special praise service at 6pm.
  • Newtimber PCC on Tuesday 26th May at 7.30pm at Rectory Cottage.
  • Puppet show and workshop at Newtimber Church on Weds 27th May (during half term) from 2.30-4.30pm.
  • ‘Pimms and Hymns’ is on Sunday 31st May at Edburton Church at 6pm – come and enjoy your favourite hymns!